What a difference: women and diversity in politics

Rebuilding trust in politics is a huge challenge, but there's one thing we can do now - we can change the face of politics. We can make sure that our political leaders look and sound like people up and down the country and share the same experiences as us.

We are delighted to be able to invite Sarah Childs and Eluned Parrott to speak to us. The event will be chaired by former Member of the Senedd for South Wales Central Eluned Parrott. Sarah will give a presentation and Q&A on the difference women, and diversity, makes to politics and decision making. The event will be held on Zoom.

Sarah Childs is Professor of Politics & Gender at Royal Holloway. Sarah’s research centres on the theory and practice of women’s representation, gender and political parties, parliaments and institutional change. For 2020-21 she has been awarded a Leverhulme Research Fellowship to write a monograph, Building Feminist Institutions, based on her experiences re-gendering the UK House of Commons.

In 2009-10 she was the gender Special Adviser to the UK Parliament’s ‘Speaker’s Conference’ on representation and in 2014 the Special Adviser to the All Party Parliamentary Group, Women in Parliament Inquiry.  Following a secondment to the House of Commons in 2015-2016 funded by the ESRC, Sarah published The Good Parliament (TGP) Report which identified a series of reforms to make the UK House of Commons diversity sensitive.

On her recommendation a new group of MPs, The Commons Reference Group on Representation and Inclusion was established by Mr Speaker. In the years since publication of TGP, some 18 recommendations have been adopted; most notably in 2019, the introduction of proxy voting for MPs on ‘babyleave’. Having advised the Reference group during 2016-18, in 2019 Sarah advised the Women and Equalities Committee's inquiry into the UK Gender Sensitive Parliament Audit.

The event will be held on Zoom and a link will be provided in the email to confirm your ticket.

September 16, 2020 at 6:00pm - 7:15pm
Rhys Taylor · · +447854645895
Kathryn Ann Lock Angharad Jones Anne Morgan Jonathan Phillip Bird Rosemary Chaloner James Bear Robert Hopkins Sally Symington Kathryn Lock-Giddy Jayne Richmond Amna Ahmad Florence Macdonald Rodney Berman Meera Moynihan Callum James Littlemore Geraldine Nichols Sarah Martin Jenny Wilson Vita Zaporozcenko Aleisha Stansfield Katharine Macy Hannah Perkin Sorcha Holloway Fred Till Liz Jarvis Jenny Batt Rebecca Forrest Rebecca Procter Chloe Hutchinson B James Harder Karen DellArmi Rhys Taylor

Will you come?

Can we keep you updated?

The Liberal Democrats may use the information you provide, including your political opinions, to further our objectives and share it with our elected representatives. Any data we gather will be used in accordance with our privacy policy: www.libdems.org.uk/privacy You can exercise your rights and withdraw your consent to future communications by contacting us: [email protected] or: DPO, Lib Dems, 1 Vincent Square, SW1P 2PN.

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.